Maryland Cannabis Laws

The Cannabis Reform Act became law in Maryland in May 2023. The law now lets people in the state use marijuana. As of July 1, 2023, adults 21 and older will be able to legally buy cannabis from dispensaries that have been cleared.

The rules about weed have changed a lot since Maryland switched from medical to recreational use of cannabis. Maryland now has new laws and rules for businesses. They are easy to understand because this post breaks them down.

Maryland Cannabis Laws At A Glance

  • Maryland utilizes Metrc for seed-to-sale tracking and reporting
  • Adult-use cannabis is assessed a 9% sales and use tax
  • A dispensary can use an online ordering system for pre-orders, either for pick-up or delivery
  • A dispensary cannot be open for business for more than 12 hours a day
  • Advertisements making therapeutic or medical condition claims for cannabis or cannabis products must be supported by reliable scientific evidence
  • The Maryland Cannabis Administration (MCA) will now regulate cannabis businesses for legalization
  • Adults in Maryland can possess and purchase up to 1.5 ounces of cannabis
  • The updated state legislation establishes three rounds of licensing for the cannabis industry in the state. The first licensing round will take place in the fall of 2023, followed by the second round in 2024.

1. Licensing

Law: (1) The division administration shall:(i) Issue standard licenses, micro licenses, incubator space licenses, and on-site consumption licenses in accordance with this title;(ii) On or before July 1, 2023, convert licenses that were issued to medical cannabis growers, processors, and dispensaries, including those businesses preapproved for licensure, to licenses to operate a medical and adult-use cannabis business if: 1. A conversion fee is paid in accordance with § 36–403 of this subtitle

(1) A person must obtain a cannabis license issued by the division administration to operate a cannabis business. (2) A cannabis license issued under this subtitle:(i) Authorizes the holder of the license to operate a medical marijuana and adult-use cannabis business;(ii) Is valid for 5 years on initial licensure and 5 years on renewal; and(iii) May be transferred only in accordance with subtitle 5 of this title. (b)

2. The business complies with the ownership restrictions under subsection (e) of this section;(iii) Set production, processing, sales, and other limitations and requirements for all license types;(iv) Issue dispensary licenses in a manner that encourages a balanced geographic distribution based on population and market demand within a specific county, as well as cross-jurisdictional market demand

v) Consider market demand in the issuance of all license types;(vi) Adopt regulations requiring licensees whose licenses were converted by the division administration under item (ii) of this paragraph to reserve a specified amount of cannabis for social equity licensees.

(2) The division administration may:(i) Inspect a cannabis licensee to ensure compliance with this title and the regulations adopted under this title;(ii) Revoke a cannabis license if good faith efforts have not been made by the cannabis licensee to establish a cannabis business within 18 months after the license was awarded;(iii) Impose penalties or rescind the license of a cannabis licensee that does not meet the standards for licensure established under this title or regulations adopted under this title; and(iv) Conditionally award cannabis licenses.

(c) (1) A standard license authorizes the holder of the license:(i) For growers, to operate more than 10,000 square feet, but not more than 300,000 square feet, of indoor canopy or its equivalent, as calculated by the division administration;(ii) For processors, to process more than 1,000 pounds of cannabis per year, as calculated by the division administration; and(iii) For dispensaries, to operate a store at a physical location that sells cannabis or cannabis products.

(2) A micro license authorizes the holder of the license:(i) For growers, to operate not more than 10,000 square feet of indoor canopy or its equivalent, as calculated by the division administration;(ii) For processors, to process not more than 1,000 pounds of cannabis per year, as calculated by the division administration; and (iii) For dispensaries, to operate a delivery service that sells cannabis or cannabis products without a physical storefront, provided that the licensee employs not more than 10 employees.

(3) An incubator space license authorizes the holder of the license to operate a facility within which a micro licensee may operate in accordance with § 36–406 of this subtitle.

(4) For on-site consumption licenses, 50 licenses. (e) (1) This subsection applies to all licenses, including licenses converted under subsection (b)(1)(ii) of this section. (2) Subject to paragraph (3) of this subsection, a person may have an ownership interest in or control of, including the power to manage and operate, only:(i) For standard licenses and micro licenses:

1. One grower licensee;2. One processor licensee; and3. Not more than four dispensary licensees;(ii) For incubator space licenses, not more than two licensees; and(iii) For on-site consumption licenses, not more than two licensees.

1) For standard licenses:(i) 75 grower licenses;(ii) 100 processor licenses; and(iii) 300 dispensary licenses;(2) For micro licenses:(i) 100 grower licenses;(ii) 100 processor licenses; and(iii) 200 dispensary licenses;(3) For incubator space licenses, 10 licenses

(4) An on-site consumption license authorizes the holder of the license to operate a facility on the premises of which individuals can smoke outdoors, vape, or consume cannabis in accordance with § 36–407 of this subtitle. (d) The division administration may not issue more than the following number of licenses per type, including licenses converted under subsection (b)(1)(ii) of this section.

Maryland’s new rules for people who want to use marijuana set up three rounds of licensing for businesses that sell marijuana. There will be a first round in the fall of 2023. Twenty24 is the date of the second round. A lot of people will be told about the licensing process and the weed business by the Maryland Weed Administration before the first round of applications opens.

For cannabis licensing and education efforts, there will be a mix of in-person and online events that will teach companies and people who want to apply how to do so.

There are only so many licenses that the cannabis section can give out for each type of cannabis

For standard licenses:

75 grower licenses

100 processor licenses

300 dispensary licenses

For micro licenses:

100 processor licenses

100 grower licenses

200 10 dispensary licenses

For incubator space licenses:

10 licenses

50 licenses

For on-site consumption licenses

2. Operating Requirements

Legal reference A dispensary shall either provide (1) exclusive access to the licensed premises to qualified patients and registered caregivers for at least one hour per day or (2) a dedicated service line to serve only qualifying patients and registered caregivers for the duration of the licensed premises’ operating hours.

mca encourages dispensaries to offer additional accommodations for patients and caregivers, including providing priority access to the service area, designated parking spaces, additional hours, or additional service lines. product reservations generally dispensaries must ensure an adequate supply of medical cannabis products and reserve high potency products for medical patients.

specifically, dispensaries may only sell the following products to qualifying patients and registered caregivers: concentrated cannabis products edible cannabis products, infused non-edible cannabis products, capsules, and tinctures containing more than 10 milligrams (mg) tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) per serving or 100 mg thc per package adult consumers may purchase

cannabis vaporizing devices (e.g., vapes) home cultivation products usable cannabis products (e.g., flower, pre-rolls) edible cannabis products, infused non-edible cannabis products, capsules, and tinctures containing up to 10 mg THC per serving or 100 mg of THC per package(a) beginning July 1, 2023, a cannabis licensee that is operating a dispensary shall:(1) ensure that it has an adequate supply for qualifying patients and caregivers, and (2) set aside operating hours or dedicated service lines to serve only qualifying patients and caregivers, and

(3) ensure that shelf space for at least 25% of cannabis and cannabis products in the dispensary is available for cannabis and cannabis products from social equity licensees and growers and processors that do not share common ownership with the dispensary.

Maryland Cannabis Laws

dispensaries shall make a good faith effort to reserve 25% of products available for retail sale for products grown, manufactured, extracted, or otherwise produced by licensees that have no common ownership interest or control with the dispensary license holder and by social equity businesses once they are up and running. when possible, businesses are encouraged to prioritize products produced by social equity businesses. (b) except as provided in subsection

(d) of this section, a licensed dispensary may not locate within (1) 500 feet of (i) a pre–existing primary or secondary school in the state, or a licensed child care center or registered family child care home under title 9.5 of the education article; or(ii) a playground, recreation center, library, or public park; or(2) 1,000 feet of another dispensary under this title.

(c) a political subdivision may adopt an ordinance reducing the distance requirements under subsection (b) of this section. (d) the distance requirements under subsection (b) of this section do not apply to a dispensary license that was:(1) converted under § 36–401(b)(1)(ii) of this subtitle; and(2) properly zoned and operating before July 1, 2023.

According to state law, dispensaries must give registered caregivers and approved patients (1) private access to the licensed space for at least one hour a day or (2) a dedicated service line during business hours.

Medical patients are urged to make the following extra accommodations:

  • Faster access
  • Extra lines for service
  • Parking spots that are marked
  • Longer hours

Licensed dispensaries can’t be found in:

  • Public parks
  • Playgrounds
  • Recreation centers
  • Libraries
  • Child care centers
  • 1,000 feet of another dispensary under the same title
  • 500 feet of pre-existing schools

Read More: 6 California Cannabis Laws Need to Know!

3. Security

Tips on how to keep a Maryland drugstore safe. A registered dispensary in Maryland must follow certain security rules to keep medical cannabis safe while it is being kept and given out and to keep people from getting in without permission. As part of these thorough steps, warning systems, video surveillance, dividing buildings into zones, and controlling who can enter and leave a building are all used.

Building the premises and making a safe room

The building where the licensed dispensary is located must be built in a way that successfully keeps people from getting in without permission.
The medical cannabis inventory must be kept safely in a secure room inside the store.
The safe room should meet the following requirements:

  1. The front door should be kept from the building’s public places.
  2. It is not allowed to be placed next to an outside wall.
  3. There should only be one door to the safe room, and it should meet business security standards.
  4. It has to be built out of concrete or another solid material to keep people from getting in without permission.
  5. To ensure high security, the front door must have a cipher or chip-activated coded lock.

The medical cannabis inventory must only be kept in the secure room during work hours and a specific window of time before and after.

Lighting And Surveillance

To make surveillance easier, all of the lighting in the approved room should be carefully planned and set up.
A full security alarm system should be installed around the outside of the building, covering all doors, windows, and other areas.
The security warning system has the following features:

  1. Place panic alarms in easy-to-reach places inside the building so they can be used immediately.
  2. The ability to detect smoke, fire, and power outages.
  3. Continuous tracking makes sure that any security breaches are known right away.

A separate, independent alarm system is necessary to safeguard:

  • Any secure room containing medical cannabis.
  • On-site place to store records.
  • off-site place to store records.

The security devices have to keep going as long as there is medical cannabis on the property.
All security alarm systems should have backup power to keep them running for at least 48 hours.

Video Surveillance

1. The dispensary must maintain a motion-activated video surveillance recording system at all times.
2. The video surveillance system should meet the following criteria:

  • High-quality and high-resolution imaging, capable of clearly capturing facial details.
  • Accurate date and time stamp for each recorded frame.
  • Continuous operation, 24/7, throughout the entire year.

3. Notice of the video surveillance must be posted visibly for visitors.
4. Surveillance cameras should cover key areas, including exits, and entrances to medical cannabis packaging, storage, and dispensing areas.

5. Recordings from the video surveillance should be:

  • Retained for a minimum of 90 calendar days.
  • Protected by an independent security alarm system.
  • Access-restricted.
  • Easily accessible for investigative purposes.

Any security video surveillance recordings must be promptly provided to the Commission or law enforcement agency upon request, within 48 hours.

Zone Division And Access Control

1. The licensed dispensary must be divided into distinct zones: public and operations.
2. Public Zone:

  • A waiting area is open to the general public.
  • A service area for consulting with qualifying patients and caregivers and dispensing medical cannabis.
  • Restricted access to the service area, exclusively for qualifying patients and caregivers.
  • Display of business hours at the entrance to the public zone.

3. Operations Zone:

  • Activities other than patient consultation and dispensing should take place in the operations zone.
  • The operations zone must be segmented for medical cannabis storage, preparation and packaging, agent breaks, and changing areas.
  • Movement to and from the operations zone should be documented using tamper-evident logbooks or electronic identification logs.

4. Clear signage should demarcate the different zones.
5. Access points between zones should be securely controlled.
6. Security alarm systems and video surveillance should monitor the separation between zones.
7. Except for displayed, processed, or dispensed inventory during business hours, all medical cannabis must be stored within a secure room.
8. Only registered dispensary agents are authorized to handle inventory within display cases or other dispensary areas until dispensed.

Read More: 5 Florida Medical Marijuana Laws You Want to Know!

4. Advertising and Marketing

Legal definition: (a) “advertisement” in this subtitle means the release, distribution, or circulation of any audio, visual, digital, spoken, or written material that is directly or indirectly meant to sell cannabis or any product or service connected to cannabis. “Advertisement” does not include labels or packages. An ad for cannabis, cannabis products, or cannabis-related services that makes medical or therapeutic claims must: (1) be backed up by good, solid scientific evidence; and

(2) list the most serious and common side effects or risks of using marijuana. Advertisements put up on land owned or rented by a dispensary, grower, or Processor are not covered by this section (a) (1).

(2) an advertisement for a cannabis licensee, cannabis product, or cannabis-related service may not: (1) make a statement that is false or misleading in a material way or is otherwise a violation of Title 13, subtitle 3 of the commercial law article;

(i) violate Title 13, subtitle 3 of the commercial law article; (ii) directly or indirectly target individuals under the age of 21 years; (iii) contain a design, an illustration, a picture, or a representation that: (i) 1. targets or is attractive to minors, including a cartoon character, a mascot, or any other depiction that is commonly used to market products to minors; (ii)

2. displays the use of cannabis, including the consumption, smoking, or vaping of cannabis; (iii) 3. encourages or promotes cannabis for use as an intoxicant, or (i) 4. is obscene;

(3) (iv) engage in advertising by means of television, radio, internet, mobile application, social media, or other electronic communication, or print publication, unless at least 85% of the audience is reasonably expected to be at least 21 years old as determined by reliable and current audience composition data; or

Any form of communication meant to promote the sale of cannabis or products or services connected to cannabis is considered an advertisement. This includes spoken, written, recorded, or seen messages.

Important: Requirements for medical claims in ads, packing, and labels are not ads.

Advertisements for cannabis that say cannabis or cannabis products are therapeutic or medical must be backed up by strong scientific proof. Additionally, they should talk about the negative impacts or dangers of using weed.

Advertisements for cannabis licensees, cannabis products, or cannabis-related services must not:

  • Violate specific commercial Maryland law articles
  • Make false or misleading statements
  • Place advertisements on the side of buildings or other publicly visible locations, including signs, posters, placards, devices, graphic displays, outdoor billboards, or freestanding signboards
  • Directly or indirectly target individuals under the age of 21
  • Engage in advertising on television, radio, internet, mobile applications, social media, or other electronic communication, or print publication
  • Contain designs, illustrations, pictures, or representations that target or are attractive to minors, display cannabis use, encourage or promote cannabis for intoxication, or are obscene.

Requirements for Cannabis-Related Websites

Cannabis-related websites must employ a neutral age-screening mechanism to verify that users are at least 21 years old before accessing or viewing any content or before collecting personal information for advertising purposes.

  • Advertisements on social media or mobile applications must include a notification that individuals must be at least 21 years old to view the content
  • Websites appropriate for qualifying patients under the age of 21 must provide an alternative screening mechanism for those patients.
  • Cannabis licensees are prohibited from allowing the use of their trademarks, brands, names, locations, or other distinguishing characteristics for third-party advertisements that are not compliant.

5. Prohibited Acts

(2) $1,000 for a second violation that happens within 24 months of the first violation; and (3) $5,000 for each subsequent violation that happens within 24 months of the violation that came before it. (II) If you break subsection (A) of this section more than 24 months after the last time you broke it, it will be considered your first violation. A person applying for or already having a cannabis license can be denied one, given a warning, or have their license suspended or taken away if they break part (A) of this section two or more times in a 24-month period.

Legal reference: (A) A person with a cannabis license cannot sell, transfer, or transport cannabis or cannabis products unless they can prove, with a valid driver’s license or other government-issued photo ID that shows the person’s date of birth, that:

For adult-use cannabis, the person who wants to use it must be at least 21 years old. For medical cannabis, the patient or provider must be (I) registered with the Division Administration and (II) at least 18 years old. People with a license who sell, give, or send cannabis or cannabis products in a way that is against subsection (A) of this section will be fined $500 for the first offense and $1,000 for each subsequent offense.

In a hearing for allegedly breaking this section, it is a defense that a representative of the defendant looked at the consumer, patient, or caregiver’s driver’s license or other valid ID issued by a government agency and confirmed that the consumer, patient, or caregiver was at least the age required by subsection (A) of this section.

A cannabis licensee can’t: (I) Sell, give, or deliver cannabis to someone who is obviously high; or (II) Give cannabis or cannabis products away as a prize, premium, or payment for any kind of lottery, contest, game of chance, game of skill, or competition; or (III) Sell cannabis directly to consumers online before July 1, 2025. If a cannabis license holder breaks paragraph (1) of this part, they could get a $1,000 fine, have their license suspended or taken away, or both.

Before selling, transferring, or delivering cannabis or cannabis goods, dispensaries have to make sure that customers are of legal age.

People who want to use cannabis for adult purposes must be at least 21 years old and show a legal ID. The person who needs medical cannabis must be at least 18 years old and registered with the division’s office.

Penalties for violation

If a licensee sells, transfers, or delivers cannabis without proving their age, they could face legal penalties:

  • $500 for the first violation
  • $1,000 for the second violation within 24 months
  • $5,000 for each subsequent violation within 24 months

Dispensaries are prohibited from:

  • Offering cannabis or cannabis products as prizes, premiums, or consideration for lotteries, contests, games of chance, games of skill, or competitions
  • Selling, transferring, or delivering cannabis to visibly intoxicated individuals
  • Conducting direct-to-consumer (D2C) internet sales of adult-use cannabis before July 1, 2025

Violation of these restrictions can result in a fine of up to $1,000, suspension or revocation of a license, or both.

Read More: 6 California Cannabis Laws Need to Know!

6. E-commerce

Legally speaking, a dispensary can take pre-orders for delivery or pick-up through an online buying system. Pre-ordering for pickup is currently only available to adults, qualifying patients, and caregivers. Delivery is only available to qualifying patients and caretakers.

Using an online ordering method, a dispensary must (1) make sure the customer is at least 21 years old or a qualifying patient or registered caregiver, and (2) get the customer’s signature and contact information. When that happens, the online buying system can take payment. A lawfully authorized dispensary can’t sell or give out cannabis through a third party, broker, or any other business or organization that isn’t registered.

Access to a dispensary must be limited to qualified patients, their guardians, and adults over 21. It is illegal for a pharmacy to be open for more than 12 hours a day, or before 8 a.m. or after 10 p.m. The MCA may require dispensaries to prominently show valid proof of license, information on how to stay safe as a consumer, and rules about the minimum age and ID needed to buy marijuana.

Requirements for Online Ordering System

  • Both signature and contact information must be collected before accepting payment for the order
  • Dispensaries must verify that a consumer is at least 21 years old or a qualifying patient or registered caregiver

A licensed dispensary cannot sell or distribute:

  • Cannabis through unlicensed third parties
  • Brokers
  • Any other unauthorized entities
  • Intermediary businesses

Dispensary Online Ordering

  • Delivery is only available to qualifying patients and caregivers
  • A dispensary can use an online ordering system for pre-orders, either for pick-up or delivery
  • Pre-orders for pick-up are available to adult consumers, qualifying patients, and caregivers

Display Requirements

  • A dispensary may be required to prominently display valid proof of licensure
  • Dispensaries must display consumer education safety information provided by the relevant authority
  • Minimum purchase age and identification requirements should be clearly displayed

Access and Operating Restrictions

  • A dispensary cannot open before 8 a.m. or operate after 10 p.m.
  • A dispensary must limit access to qualifying patients, caregivers, and individuals over the age of 21
  • A dispensary cannot be open for business for more than 12 hours a day

7. Maximum Purchases and Products that Can Be Bought

Legally speaking, a dispensary can’t give out more weed in a single day than what is needed for personal use. Criminal Law Article §5-101 says that this includes: (1) no more than 1.5 ounces (oz) of usable cannabis; (2) no more than 12 grams (g) of concentrated cannabis; or (3) no more than 750 mg of cannabis goods that contain delta-9-THC.

As a reminder, you can only legally buy concentrated cannabis goods for medical reasons. Vaping devices for cannabis are weighed as concentrated cannabis for adult use, no matter how it was made, and a 12-gram cap applies to each transaction. Tinctures and capsules are also considered edible cannabis goods and are limited to 750 mg per transaction.

Therefore, the amounts that adults can buy outside of the medical market are in line with the present criminal law on marijuana possession: The amount of usable weed cannot be more than 1.5 ounces (oz). a. They make a category for cannabis goods that can be used. The flower that is i. pre-rolled and ii. stored in jars, other containers, or other ways; and ii. pre-packaged amounts. b.

The flower sold to a person as a useful cannabis product cannot weigh more than 42.5 grams, or 1.5 ounces in total. No more than 12 grams (g) of highly concentrated weed. a. For adult-use sales, this group only includes cannabis vaporizing devices or fluid. For example, a 1-gram vape cartridge is legal for these sales because it contains 1 gram of concentrated cannabis. b.

Everyone is limited to 12 grams of vapes, vape batteries, and other similar items, no matter how they were made. c. A person simply can’t buy any other concentrated product. 3. a number of cannabis goods that have less than 750 mg of delta-9-THC? This includes any other cannabis product as long as it has less than 10 mg per dose and 100 mg per package.

It includes i. foods; ii. capsules; iii. tinctures; and iv. topicals and lotions (for example, “infused non-edibles”). b. For adult use, one transaction cannot include more than 750 mg of THC from products in this group. c. Products with more than 10 mg of THC per dose or 100 mg of THC per package cannot be sold to people who are older than 18.

It’s a combined cap. It is illegal for someone who is buying the MAXIMUM amount of any one type of cannabis product to also buy any other types of cannabis products. See examples of breaking the sales rules below Sample Transaction Clause for Breaking the Law sixteen ounces of flower stuff.

The total amount of usable weed sold is more than the Personal Use Amount limit of 1.5 ounces. The package includes 1.5 ounces of flower and a 1-gram vape battery. The highest amount of usable cannabis and other products is included in the total sale amount. Eight one-gram disposable vapes and nine 0.5-gram vape batteries.

The total grams of vape goods sold is 12.5 grams, which is 0.5 grams more than the 12-gram limit in the Personal Use Amount. Sample Transaction Clause for Breaking the Law These include seven bags of 100 mg THC edibles, a 50 mg THC tincture, and 3.5 grams of flower. In total, 750 mg of THC-containing goods and more usable cannabis were sold. Six packages of 75 mg THC edibles, three bottles of 100 mg THC lotions, and a jar with ten 5 mg THC capsules. In total, 800 mg of THC-containing goods are sold, which is more than the 750 mg limit for personal use.

Additionally, pharmacy employees are required by law to refuse sales to any customer whose buying habits could easily be used for reselling or diverting products. The MCA could ask METRC about purchases that either (a) don’t follow the rules on sales or (b) fit a pattern of cannabis goods that could be used for illegal activities or resale. Dispensaries can sell up to two clones or seedlings to adults aged 21 or older, and up to four to registered caregivers or approved patients aged 21 or older.

Dispensaries can sell up to six seeds to any adult user, qualified patient, or registered caregiver. Someone working at a dispensary shouldn’t give cannabis to a customer who seems to be high or impaired, who is trying to buy cannabis goods to sell, or who wants to get more than the legal amount for personal use. Starting July 1, 2023, the following amounts are allowed for adults over the age of 21 to have:

It’s legal to have up to 1.5 ounces of cannabis, 12 grams of concentrated cannabis, or cannabis goods that have up to 750 milligrams of delta-9-TCH. or up to two marijuana plants Adults are allowed to grow two cannabis plants. The plants must be hidden from view and safeguarded so that people who aren’t supposed to be there or who are younger than 21 can’t get to them. Retail dispensaries can now sell goods for home cultivation to patients, caregivers, and consumers. Cannabis plant goods for home cultivation include clones, seeds, seedlings, stalks, roots, and stems.

A licensed grower is the only one who can sell household cultivation goods to a licensed dispensary. Eating and drinking liquids (like drinks) are now legal for adults, according to these rules. Within the context of making a liquid edible, one bottle is one serving, and that serving cannot have more than 10 mg of THC. Regarding production, packing, and labeling, liquid edibles must also follow the same rules as other edibles. This includes only letting factories with legal edibles permits make these goods.

Over-21-year-olds are allowed to have up to 1.5 ounces of flower, 12 grams of vape cartridges, or other cannabis goods that have up to 750 milligrams of Delta-9-THC. Adult shoppers can buy a mix of all the groups’ limits, but they can’t buy the most from one category.

Additionally, adults can grow up to two cannabis plants, but they need to be hidden from view and locked up so that people under 21 years old or not allowed to do so can’t get to them.

Liquid Edible Products (beverages)

Liquid edible products, such as beverages, are authorized for adult consumers. Each container of liquid edible product is considered a single serving and must not contain more than 10 mg of THC. Production, packaging, and labeling of liquid edibles must comply with requirements for other edible products.

Sales of Clones, Seedlings, and Seeds

Dispensaries can sell up to two clones or seedlings to adults over 21 years old, and up to four clones or seedlings to qualifying patients or registered caregivers. Up to six seeds can be sold to adult-use consumers, qualifying patients, or registered caregivers.

Sales Limits and Violations

Dispensaries must not knowingly dispense more than the personal use amount of cannabis to an individual in a single day. Examples of violations include:

  • Combining the maximum amount of usable cannabis with additional products
  • Selling more than 1.5 ounces of flower
  • Exceeding the limits on vape products, edible products, tinctures, lotions, or capsules containing THC

Dispensary agents must deny sales to consumers whose purchase patterns suggest the resale or diversion of cannabis products.

Home Cultivation Products and Requirements

Home cultivation products, including clones, seeds, seedlings, stalks, roots, and stems, can be sold by dispensaries to consumers, patients, and caregivers—dispensaries can only obtain home cultivation products from licensed growers.

Maryland Cannabis Laws FAQS

Q. Is it legal to grow marijuana in Maryland?

In Maryland, adults can grow up to two marijuana plants. People shouldn’t be able to see these plants.

Q. Is recreational marijuana legal in Maryland?

Yes, people will be able to buy cannabis at a dispensary for fun starting July 1, 2023.

Q. Is weed legal in Baltimore?

Yes, people aged 21 and up can legally buy and use weed in Maryland, including in Baltimore.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.